English Literature, 1745-1800

English 326, Spring 2001

Jack Lynch

Course Description


Go directly to:

January -- February -- March -- April


Office: (973) 353-5279 x 516; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Monday, 2:30-4:00, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:30 p.m.!).

E-mail: jlynch@andromeda.rutgers.edu (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: lynch326 @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (for the whole class).


Course Requirements


Schedule of Class Meetings

Wed., 17 Jan.
Introduction (class business, &c.).

Mon., 22 Jan.:
Samuel Johnson, selections from The Rambler (L, pp. 2702-19) and The Idler (L, pp. 2724-30); James Boswell, The Life of Samuel Johnson, pp. 19-36, 143-63.
Wed., 24 Jan.:
Johnson, The Vanity of Human Wishes and "On the Death of Dr. Robert Levet" (L, pp. 2692-2702); Boswell, Life, pp. 118-43, 166-77.

Mon., 29 Jan.:
Johnson, selections from Rasselas (L, pp. 2745-53) and the review of Soame Jenyns (L, pp. 2719-24); Boswell, Life, pp. 240-43.
Wed., 31 Jan.:
Johnson, selections from A Journey to the Western Islands of Scotland (L, pp. 2770-78); Boswell, selections from A Journal of a Tour to the Hebrides (L, pp. 2809-13).

Mon., 5 Feb.:
Hester Thrale Piozzi, selections from "Family Book" and Thraliana (L, pp. 2830-43); Boswell, Life, pp. 344-53. OED Exercise Due: Three words from Johnson.
Wed., 7 Feb.:
Thomas Gray, "Ode on a Distant Prospect of Eton College" (L, pp. 2682-84), Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard (L, pp. 2685-88); Boswell, Life, pp. 403-11, 590-96.

Mon., 12 Feb.:
Oliver Goldsmith, The Deserted Village (L, pp. 2844-54); George Crabbe, selections from The Village and The Parish Register (L, pp. 2854-57); Boswell, Life, pp. 379-89.
Wed., 14 Feb.:
David Hume, selections from A Treatise of Human Nature and An Enquiry concerning Human Understanding (L, pp. 2644-50); Edmund Burke, selections from Philosophical Enquiry into the Sublime and the Beautiful (L, pp. 2875-82); Boswell, "An Account of My Last Interview with David Hume" (L, pp. 2805-8); Life, pp. 424-28.

Mon., 19 Feb.:
Horace Walpole, The Castle of Otranto; Boswell, Life, pp. 411-24.
Wed., 21 Feb.:
Walpole, The Castle of Otranto and letter to Mann (L, pp. 2874-75); Boswell, Life, pp. 732-48. OED Exercise Due: Three words from Gray, Goldsmith, Crabbe, Hume, or Burke.

Mon., 26 Feb.:
Richard Brinsley Sheridan, The School for Scandal, Acts I-III; Boswell, Life, pp. 272-307.
Wed., 28 Feb.:
Sheridan, The School for Scandal, Acts IV-V; Boswell, Life, pp. 764-76.

Mon., 5 March:
James Macpherson, selections from "A Dissertation concerning the Antiquity, &c. of the Poems of Ossian the Son of Fingal"; Thomas Chatterton, "Mynstrelles Songe" (on-line); Boswell, Life, pp. 579-82. OED Exercise Due: Three words from Walpole or Sheridan.
Wed., 7 March:
William Henry Ireland, An Authentic Account of the Shaksperian Manuscripts (on-line); Boswell, Life, pp. 827-35. First Paper Due.

Mon., 12 March:
No Class: Spring Break.
Wed., 14 March:
No Class: Spring Break.

Mon., 19 March:
Frances Burney, Evelina, pp. 1-132 (volume 1); Boswell, Life, pp. 181-89.
Wed., 21 March:
Burney, Evelina, pp. 135-225 (through vol. 2, letter 19); Boswell, Life, pp. 209-16.

Mon., 26 March:
Burney, Evelina, pp. 225-323 (through vol. 3, letter 10); Boswell, Life, pp. 596-603, 1234-37.
Wed., 28 March:
Burney, Evelina, pp. 324-406; Boswell, Life, pp. 686-701.

Mon., 2 April:
Mary Wollstonecraft, A Vindication of the Rights of Woman, Dedication, Introduction, and chapters 1, 2, 4; Boswell, Life, pp. 1203-19. OED Exercise Due: Three words from Burney.
Wed., 4 April:
Mary Wollstonecraft, A Vindication of the Rights of Woman, chapters 9, 11, 12, and 13; Boswell, Life, pp. 1275-1304.

Mon., 9 April:
Olaudah Equiano, Narrative, chapters 1-6; Boswell, Life, pp. 876-86.
Wed., 11 April:
Equiano, Narrative, chapters 7-12; Boswell, Life, pp. 538-43.

Mon., 16 April:
Christopher Smart, selections from Jubilate Agno (L, pp. 2650-53); William Cowper, "Light Shining out of Darkness," selections from The Task, "The Cast-Away" (L, pp. 2654-57, 2674-77); Boswell, Life, pp. 43-97.
Wed., 18 April:
No Class: I'll be galivanting in New Orleans.

Mon., 23 April:
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven and Hell; Boswell, Life, pp. 105-7.
Wed., 25 April:
Blake, The Marriage of Heaven and Hell; Boswell, Life, pp. 1374-1402.

Mon., 30 April:
Conclusion. Second Paper Due.