The Eighteenth-Century English Novel

English 349, Autumn 2001

Jack Lynch

Course Description

Go directly to:


Office: (973) 353-5279 x 516; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Thursday, 2:30-4:00, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:30 p.m.!).

E-mail: (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: lynch349 @ (for the whole class).

Course Requirements

Schedule of Class Meetings

Tuesday, 4 Sept.:
Introduction (class business, &c.).
Thursday, 6 Sept.:
Thomas Malory, "Syr Launcelot du Lake," from Le Morte Darthur (c. 1475).

Tuesday, 11 Sept.:
Eliza Haywood, "Fantomina" (1725); Ian Watt, The Rise of the Novel, chapter 1 ("Realism and the Novel Form").
Thursday, 13 Sept.:
Daniel Defoe, Moll Flanders (1722), pp. 1-105. OED Exercise 1 (on Malory or Haywood) due.

Tuesday, 18 Sept.:
Moll Flanders, pp. 105-89; Ian Watt, The Rise of the Novel, chapter 2 ("The Reading Public and the Rise of the Novel").

Thursday, 20 Sept.:
Moll Flanders, pp. 269-343; Ian Watt, The Rise of the Novel, chapter 4 ("Defoe as Novelist: Moll Flanders").

Tuesday, 25 Sept.:
Samuel Richardson, Pamela (1740), pp. 1-98.
Thursday, 27 Sept.:
Pamela, pp. 98-219; Ian Watt, The Rise of the Novel, chapter 6 ("Private Experience and the Novel").

Tuesday, 2 Oct.:
Pamela, pp. 221-367.
Thursday, 4 Oct.:
Pamela, pp. 367-503; Ian Watt, The Rise of the Novel, chapter 5 ("Love and the Novel: Pamela").

Tuesday, 9 Oct.:
Henry Fielding, Shamela (1741). OED Exercise 2 (on Defoe or Richardson) due.
Thursday, 11 Oct.:
Henry Fielding, Joseph Andrews (1742), Book I; Ian Watt, The Rise of the Novel, chapter 8 ("Fielding and the Epic Theory of the Novel").

Tuesday, 16 Oct.:
Joseph Andrews, Book II; Samuel Johnson on Richardson and Fielding (photocopy).
Thursday, 18 Oct.:
Joseph Andrews, Book III.

Tuesday, 23 Oct.:
Joseph Andrews, Book IV. FIRST PAPER (5-7 pages) DUE.
Thursday, 25 Oct.:
Tobias Smollett, Humphry Clinker (1771), vol. 1.

Tuesday, 30 Oct.:
Humphry Clinker, vol. 2.
Thursday, 1 Nov.:
Humphry Clinker, vol. 3.

Tuesday, 6 Nov.:
Henry Mackenzie, The Man of Feeling (1771).
Thursday, 8 Nov.:
The Man of Feeling. OED Exercise 3 (on Fielding, Smollett, or Mackenzie) due.

Tuesday, 13 Nov.:
Matthew Lewis, The Monk (1796), vol. 1.
Thursday, 15 Nov.:
The Monk, vol. 2.

Tuesday, 20 Nov.:
The Monk, vol. 3.
Thursday, 22 Nov.
No class: Thanksgiving break.

Tuesday, 27 Nov.:
Frances Burney, Evelina (1778), pp. 1-132 (volume 1).
Thursday, 29 Nov.:
Evelina, pp. 135-225 (through vol. 2, letter 19).

Tuesday, 4 Dec.:
Evelina, pp. 225-323 (through vol. 3, letter 10).
Thursday, 6 Dec.:
Evelina, pp. 324-406; Ian Watt, The Rise of the Novel, chapter 10 ("Realism and the Later Tradition: A Note"). OED Exercise 4 (on Lewis or Burney) due.

Tuesday, 11 Dec.:
Conclusion. FINAL PAPER (8-10 pages) DUE.