The Art of Satire

English 313, Spring 2003

Jack Lynch

Course Description

Go directly to:

JanuaryFebruaryMarchApril


Office: (973) 353-5279 x 516; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Monday, 1:30-2:30 and 4:00-5:00, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:00 p.m.!).

E-mail: jlynch@andromeda.rutgers.edu (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: satire @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (for the whole class).


Course Requirements


Schedule of Class Meetings

Wednesday, 22 January
Introduction: Satire, irony, comedy, parody, lampoon, invective, burlesque, travesty, jeremiad.

THE ORIGINS:
Ridentem Dicere Verum

Monday, 27 January
Horace, Satires 2.1 and 2.2.
Wednesday, 29 January
Juvenal, Satires 3 and 10.
Monday, 3 February
Alexander Pope, "The First Satire of the Second Book of Horace, Imitated," and "The Second Satire of the Second Book of Horace, Paraphrased."
Wednesday, 5 February
John Dryden, selections from Discourse concerning the Original and Progress of Satire.
Monday, 10 February
Dryden, Juvenal's "Third Satyr."
Wednesday, 12 February
Samuel Johnson, London. EXERCISE: Produce your own imitation of part of a satire by Horace or Juvenal in about 500 words. Rhyme and meter are optional.

WHO BREAKS A BUTTERFLY UPON A WHEEL?
Lampoon and Invective

Monday, 17 February
John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester, "A Satyr on Charles II."
Wednesday, 19 February
Dryden, Mac Flecknoe.
Monday, 24 February
Pope, Epistle to Arbuthnot; Lady Mary Wortley Montagu, "Verses Addressed to the Imitator of Horace." EXERCISE: Break a butterfly on a wheel with a personal lampoon directed at a public figure in about 500 words. Examples: "A Satyr on George II," "Mac Clinton."

THE BEST OF ALL POSSIBLE WORLDS?
Social and Political Satire

Wednesday, 26 February
Jonathan Swift, Gulliver's Travels, part 1.
Monday, 3 March
Gulliver's Travels, part 3.
Wednesday, 5 March
Swift, A Modest Proposal.
Monday, 10 March
Voltaire, Candide, chapters 1-16. EXERCISE: Produce your own "modest proposal" on the topic of your choice in about 500 words.
Wednesday, 12 March
Candide, chapters 17-30.
Monday, 17 March
NO CLASS — Spring Break.
Wednesday, 19 March
NO CLASS — Spring Break.
Monday, 24 March
The Simpsons, "Homerphobia."
Wednesday, 26 March
Garry Trudeau, Peace Out, Dawg! Tales from Ground Zero.

SATIRICAL WORLDS:
Utopias and Dystopias

Monday, 31 March
Thomas More, Utopia, pp. 1-41.
Wednesday, 2 April
Utopia, pp. 41-85.
Monday, 7 April
Gulliver's Travels, part 4. DEBATE: "Resolved, Swift's Houyhnhnmland is a utopia."

UNIVERSAL DARKNESS:
Satire as Apocalypse

Wednesday, 9 April
Rochester, A Satyr against Mankind; Pope, The Dunciad, book 4.
Monday, 14 April
The Dunciad, book 4 (continued). E-MAIL ASSIGNMENT: Send at least two possible theses for your final paper to the class listserv by midnight on Monday.
Wednesday, 16 April
George Gordon, Lord Byron, A Vision of Judgment. E-MAIL ASSIGNMENT: Comment on at least two possible theses by other members of the class on the listserv by midnight on Wednesday.
Monday, 21 April
A Vision of Judgment (continued).
Wednesday, 23 April
Thomas Pynchon, The Crying of Lot 49, chapters 1-2.
Monday, 28 April
The Crying of Lot 49, chapters 3-4.
Wednesday, 30 April
The Crying of Lot 49, chapters 5-6. FINAL PAPER DUE.
Monday, 5 May
Conclusion.