The Eighteenth Century

English 325, Autumn 2003

Honors College Section

Jack Lynch

Course Description


Go directly to:

SeptemberOctoberNovemberDecember


Office: (973) 353-5279 x 516; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 10:30-11:30, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:00 p.m.!).

E-mail: jlynch @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: 18th-honors @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (for the whole class).


Course Requirements


Schedule of Class Meetings

Tues., 2 Sept.
Introduction (class business, &c.).
Thurs., 4 Sept.
Andrew Marvell, "On a Drop of Dew" (BL 149-50); Jonathan Swift, "A Description of the Morning" (BL 429-30).

Tues., 9 Sept.
Robert Filmer, from Patriarcha (BL 9-10); Richard Lovelace, "Song to Lucasta, Going to the Wars," "Song to Amarantha," "To Althea" (BL 134-35); James Shirley, The Triumph of Peace (on-line).
Thurs., 11 Sept.
John Milton, from Areopagitica (BL 24-37).

Tues., 16 Sept.
Charles I, from Eikon Basilike (BL 16-19); Milton, from Eikonoklastes (BL 38-40); Marvell, "Upon Appleton House" (on-line); ballads and newsbooks from the Civil Wars (BL 1-5). OED EXERCISE DUE: Report on three words from Filmer, Lovelace, Shirley, Milton, Charles I, or Marvell.
Thurs., 18 Sept.
Thomas Hobbes, from Leviathan (BL 6-8); Abraham Cowley, "Ode of Wit" and "To Mr. Hobbes" (BL 136-40); Marvell, "Bermudas," "The Mower to the Glo-Worms," "An Horatian Ode upon Cromwell's Return from Ireland," "The Garden," "To His Coy Mistress" (BL 145-50); Henry Vaughan, "They Are All Gone into the World of Light!," "The Night" (BL 151-53); Dorothy Osborne Temple, letters to William Temple (BL 161-62).

Tues., 23 Sept.
John Bunyan, from Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners (BL 163-65); Milton, Paradise Lost, book 1 (BL 42-59).
Thurs., 25 Sept.
Paradise Lost, book 2 (BL 60-82).

Tues., 30 Sept.
Paradise Lost, books 4 and 9 (BL 82-130).
Thurs., 2 Oct.
Daniel Defoe, Journal of the Plague Year, pp. 1-125.

Tues., 7 Oct.
Defoe, Journal of the Plague Year, pp. 125-248.
Thurs., 9 Oct.
William Congreve, The Way of the World, acts 1-3 (BL 440-73). OED EXERCISE DUE: Report on three words from Hobbes, Cowley, Marvell, Vaughan, Temple, Bunyan, Milton, or Defoe.

Tues., 14 Oct.
Congreve, Way of the World, acts 4-5 (BL 472-94).
Thurs., 16 Oct.
Samuel Pepys, from the Diary (BL 220-24); John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester, "The Imperfect Enjoyment," "A Satyr against Reason and Mankind," "The Disabled Debauchee," "Lampoon," "Signior Dildo," "A Satyr on Charles II," "A Letter from Artemiza" (BL 279-96). FIRST PAPER DUE (around six pages).

Tues., 21 Oct.
John Dryden, Absalom and Achitophel (BL 181-203).
Thurs., 23 Oct.
NO CLASS: I'll be away at a conference..

Tues., 28 Oct.
Dryden, from A Discourse concerning the Original and Progress of Satire (on-line); Mac Flecknoe (BL 175-80).
Thurs., 30 Oct.
Jonathan Swift, A Tale of a Tub, through section V (BL 369-401).

Tues., 4 Nov.
Swift, A Tale of a Tub, section VI-Conclusion (BL 401-25); John Locke, An Essay concerning Humane Understanding, sections 2.1 and 4.19 (on-line). OED EXERCISE DUE: Three words from Congreve, Pepys, Rochester, Dryden, or Swift.
Thurs., 6 Nov.
Milton, from The Doctrine and Discipline of Divorce (BL 21-24); Margaret Fell Fox, from Women's Speaking Justified (BL 131-33); Mary Astell, from A Serious Proposal to the Ladies (BL 365-67); Defoe, "An Academy for Women" (BL 303-8).

Tues., 11 Nov.
Defoe, Moll Flanders, pp. 1-105.
Thurs., 13 Nov.
Defoe, Moll Flanders, pp. 105-269; Bernard Mandeville, from A Modest Defence of Public Stews (BL 495-500).

Tues., 18 Nov.
Defoe, Moll Flanders, pp. 269-343.
Thurs., 20 Nov.
Aphra Behn, Oroonoko (BL 245-79).

Tues., 25 Nov.
Aphra Behn, Oroonoko cont'd. (BL 245-79). OED EXERCISE DUE: Three words from Milton, Fox, Astell, Defoe, or Behn.
Thurs., 27 Nov.
NO CLASS: Thanksgiving break.

Tues., 2 Dec.
Alexander Pope, "Windsor-Forest" (on-line), The Rape of the Lock, cantos 1-3 (BL 531-42).
Thurs., 4 Dec.
Pope, The Rape of the Lock, cantos 4-5 (BL 542-49).

Tues., 9 Dec.
Conclusion. SECOND PAPER DUE (around eight pages).