English Biography and Autobiography
in the Eighteenth Century

English 318, Autumn 2004

Jack Lynch

Course Description

Go directly to:

SeptemberOctoberNovemberDecember


Office: (973) 353-5279 x 516; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 10:30-11:30, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:00 p.m.!).

E-mail: jlynch @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: biography @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (for the whole class)


Course Requirements


Schedule of Class Meetings

Thursday, 2 Sept.
INTRODUCTION. Class business, &c.

Tuesday, 7 Sept.
Selection from Theophrastus, Characters: the Ironic Man, the Garrulous Man, and the Flatterer; Plutarch, "Alexander," from Parallel Lives (abridged).
Thursday, 9 Sept.
Selection from St. Augustine, Confessions; Jacobus de Voragine, "The Life of Saint George," from The Golden Legend.

Tuesday, 14 Sept.
John Bunyan, Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners.
Thursday, 16
Bunyan, Grace Abounding (continued); The Narrative of the Persecution of Agnes Beaumont, in Grace Abounding, pp. 191-224.

Tuesday, 21 Sept.
Selections from John Aubrey's Brief Lives: John Dee, William Shakespeare, and Robert Boyle.
Thursday, 23 Sept.
Selections from The Complete Newgate Calendar: Jack Sheppard and Jonathan Wild. ON-LINE EXERCISE DUE.

Tuesday, 28 Sept.
John Locke, selections from An Essay concerning Human Understanding; David Hume, A Treatise of Human Nature, book 1, part 4, section 6; Samuel Johnson, Rambler 60, Rambler 68, and Idler 84.
Thursday, 30 Sept.
Samuel Johnson, selections from The Life of Savage; David Hume, "My Own Life."

Tuesday, 5 Oct.
James Boswell, Boswell's London Journal, pp. 39-140. ON-LINE EXERCISE DUE.
Thursday, 7 Oct.
Boswell, Boswell's London Journal, pp. 140-235.

Tuesday, 12 Oct.
Boswell, Boswell's London Journal, pp. 235-333.
Thursday, 14 Oct.
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 19-97.

Tuesday, 19 Oct.
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 131-216. ON-LINE EXERCISE DUE.
Thursday, 21 Oct.
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 271-337, 379-95. FIRST PAPER DUE (around six pages).

Tuesday, 26 Oct.
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 764-79, 827-35, 862-80, 942-76, 1207-17.
Thursday, 28 Oct.
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 1239-45, 1301-46, 1374-1402.

Tuesday, 2 Nov.
Benjamin Franklin, Autobiography, parts 1-2.
Thursday, 4 Nov.
Franklin, Autobiography, parts 3-4.

Tuesday, 9 Nov.
Frances Burney, A Known Scribbler, pp. 53-139.
Thursday, 11 Nov.
Burney, A Known Scribbler, pp. 139-99, 229-32, 251-54, 298-305.

Tuesday, 16 Nov.
Olaudah Equiano, The Interesting Narrative, chapters 1-6. ON-LINE EXERCISE DUE.
Thursday, 18 Nov.
Equiano, The Interesting Narrative, chapters 7-12.

Tuesday, 23 Nov.
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Confessions, books 1 and 2.
Thursday, 25 Nov.
NO CLASS: Thanksgiving break.

Tuesday, 30 Nov.
Rousseau, Confessions, books 3 and 4.
Thursday, 2 Dec.
Rousseau, Confessions, book 8.

Tuesday, 7 Dec.
William Wordsworth, The Two-Part Prelude (photocopies).
Thursday, 9 Dec.
Wordsworth, The Two-Part Prelude (continued). SECOND PAPER DUE (around eight pages).