Revolutions &
Counter-Revolutions

Liberal Studies 503/English 521,
Autumn 2007

Jack Lynch

Course Description

Go directly to:

SeptemberOctoberNovemberDecember


Office: (973) 353-5279 x 516; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Monday and Wednesday, 2:30–4:00, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:00 p.m.!).

E-mail: jlynch@andromeda.rutgers.edu (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: revolution @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (for the whole class)


Course Requirements


Schedule of Class Meetings

Wed., 5 Sept.
Introduction.
Wed., 12 Sept.
Galileo Galilei, "Letter to the Grand Duchess Christina" (1615).
Wed., 19 Sept.
No Class: I have to give a lecture in Philadelphia.
Wed., 26 Sept.
René Descartes, Discourse on Method (1637).
Wed., 3 Oct.
John Milton, The Tenure of Kings and Magistrates (1649).
Wed., 10 Oct.
Giambattista Vico, New Science (1725–44): "Idea of the Work" (pp. 1–29); Book 1, Sections 2–4 (pp. 75–131); Book 2, Prolegomena (pp. 135–43); Book 3, Section 1 (pp. 355–80); Book 4, Introduction (pp. 395–96); Book 5 (pp. 461–91).
Wed., 17 Oct.
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, First Discourse (Discourse on the Arts and Sciences, 1750).
Wed., 24 Oct.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, The Sorrows of Young Werther (1774). First Paper Due.
Wed., 31 Oct.
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Lorenzo Da Ponte, The Marriage of Figaro (1786).
Wed., 7 Nov.
Thomas Paine, The Rights of Man (1791), part 1.
Wed., 14 Nov.
Mary Wollstonecraft, A Vindication of the Rights of Woman (1792).
Wed., 21 Nov.
No Class: Friday schedule.
Wed., 28 Nov.
William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Lyrical Ballads (1798).
Wed., 5 Dec.
Karl Marx, The Eighteenth Brumaire of Louis Bonaparte (1852).
Wed., 12 Dec.
Charles Darwin, The Origin of Species (1859), chapters 1, 3, 4, 6, and 14. Final Paper Due.