Studies in Satire

English 556, Spring 2007

Jack Lynch

Course Description

Go directly to:

JanuaryFebruaryMarchApril


Office: (973) 353-5279 x 516; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 10:30–11:30, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:00 p.m.!).

E-mail: jlynch @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: StudiesInSatire @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (for the whole class)


Course Requirements


Schedule of Class Meetings

Tuesday, 16 Jan.
Introduction: Class business, &c.

Tuesday, 23 Jan.
Horace, Satires 1.9, 2.1, 2.2, and 2.6; Juvenal, Satires 6 and 10; Ulrich Knoche, "Satire: A Roman Literary Genre" and "Origin and Name of the Satura."

Tuesday, 30 Jan.
Thomas More, Utopia; Robert C. Elliott, "The Shape of Utopia."

Tuesday, 6 Feb.
No Class: I'll be giving a lecture in New Brunswick.

Tuesday, 13 Feb.
John Dryden, A Discourse concerning the Original and Progress of Satire (abridged); John Donne, Satyr 4; Alexander Pope, "The First Satire of the Second Book of Horace, Imitated," and "The Second Satire of the Second Book of Horace, Paraphrased"; Samuel Johnson, The Vanity of Human Wishes; Dustin Griffin, "Theories of Satire in Polemical Context."

Tuesday, 20 Feb.
John Dryden, Mac Flecknoe and Absalom and Achitophel; John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester, "Satyr upon Charles II," "Signor Dildo," "Satyr against Reason and Mankind"; Wayne C. Booth, "The Ways of Stable Irony."

Tuesday, 27 Feb.
Alexander Pope, The Rape of the Lock, Epistle to Arbuthnot; Lady Mary Wortley Montagu, "Verses Addressed to the Imitator of Horace"; Howard D. Weinbrot, "Masked Men and Satire and Pope."

Tuesday, 6 March
Jonathan Swift, A Tale of a Tub, "Cassinus and Peter," "Strephon and Chloe," "A Beautiful Young Nymph Going to Bed," "The Lady's Dressing Room"; Robert C. Elliott, "Swift's Satire: Rules of the Game." First Paper Due.

Tuesday, 13 March
No Class: Spring Break.

Tuesday, 20 March
Jonathan Swift, Gulliver's Travels, "Verses on the Death of Dr. Swift"; Louis I. Bredvold, "The Gloom of the Tory Satirists."

Tuesday, 27 March
Samuel Johnson, Rasselas; Voltaire, Candide; James F. Woodruff, "Rasselas and the Traditions of 'Menippean Satire.'"

Tuesday, 3 April
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice; David P. Demarest, "Reductio ad Absurdum: Jane Austen's Art of Satiric Qualification."

Tuesday, 10 April
Thomas Carlyle, Sartor Resartus; Anne K. Mellor, "Carlyle's Sartor Resartus: A Self-Consuming Artifact"; Wayne C. Booth, "Reconstructing the Unconstructable."

Tuesday, 17 April
Mark Twain, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court; Everett Carter, "The Meaning of A Connecticut Yankee."

Tuesday, 24 April
Thomas Pynchon, The Crying of Lot 49; Theodore D. Kharpertian, "Thomas Pynchon and Postmodern American Satire"; Wayne C. Booth, "Infinite Instabilities." Final Paper Due.