Note:

This syllabus is still strictly provisional. I've only just begun working through the anthology, figuring out what the readings will be. I haven't yet thought about the assignments; what you see below was just copied over from another class. I'll figure it all out later. Still, this will give you an idea of the kinds of readings we'll do over the summer.

Survey of World Literature

English 351, Summer 2008

Jack Lynch

Course Description


Office: (973) 353-5279 x 516; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Monday and Wednesday, 1:00–2:30, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:00 p.m.!).

E-mail: jlynch @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: DevLanguage @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (for the whole class).


Course Requirements


Schedule of Class Meetings

Monday, 7 July
Introduction: Class business, &c.
Tuesday, 8 July
Creation narratives: "A Babylonian Theogony" (pp. 28–30); "Hymns from the Rig Veda" (pp. 30–34); "The Great Hymn to the Aten" (pp. 40–44); from Enuma Elish: The Babylonian Creation Epic (pp. 44–54); from Hesiod, Theogony (pp. 54–60); Genesis 1–11 (pp. 62–71).
Wednesday, 9 July
Homer, Odyssey, books 1–6 (pp. 194–268).
Thursday, 10 July
Odyssey, books 7–12 (pp. 268–345).

Monday, 14 July
Odyssey, books 13–18 (pp. 345–420).
Tuesday, 15 July
Odyssey, books 19–24 (pp. 420–89).
Wednesday, 16 July
Euripides, Medea (pp. 575–608).
Thursday, 17 July
Medea, continued.

Monday, 21 July
Selections from the Ramayana (pp. 609–48).
Tuesday, 22 July
Ramayana, continued.
Wednesday, 23 July
The Song of Songs (pp. 126–36).
Thursday, 24 July
Paul, selections from Romans (pp. 816–21); Luke, selections from The Gospel According to Luke and The Acts of the Apostles (pp. 821–39).

Monday, 28 July
Chinese poetry: selections from Wang Wei (pp. 979–82); Li Bo (pp. 982–89); Du Fu (pp. 989–93); Bo Juyi (pp. 993–96).
Tuesday, 29 July
Chinese poetry, continued: Li Yu (pp. 996–98); Li Qinzhao (pp. 998–1000)
Wednesday, 30 July
Murasaki Shikibu, selections from The Tale of Genji (pp. 1000–75).
Thursday, 31 July
The Tale of Genji, continued.

Monday, 4 August
Selections from the Qur'an (pp. 1075–89).
Tuesday, 5 August
The Qur'an, continued.
Wednesday, 6 August
Selections from A Thousand and One Nights (pp. 1099–1151).
Thursday, 7 August
A Thousand and One Nights, continued.

Monday, 11 August
Dante, Inferno, cantos 1–9 (pp. 1259–95).
Tuesday, 12 August
Inferno, cantos 10–18 (pp. 1295–1326).
Wednesday, 13 August
Inferno, cantos 19–34 (pp. 1326–84).
Thursday, 14 August
Boccaccio, selections from the Decameron (pp. 1453–78).

Monday, 7 July
Selections from Marie de France, Lais (pp. 1188–1200); selections from Petrarch, Canzoniere (pp. 1479–87).
Tuesday, 8 July
Michel de Montaigne, selections from Essays (pp. 1517–45).
Wednesday, 9 July
Final exam.