English Biography and Autobiography
in the Eighteenth Century

English 318, Spring 2010

Jack Lynch

Course Description

Go directly to:

JanuaryFebruaryMarchApril


Office: (973) 353-5204; 516 Hill Hall.

Hours: Monday and Wednesday, 2:30–4:00, and by appointment (appointments are best).

Home: (609) 882-4642 (before 10:00 p.m.!).

E–mail: jlynch@andromeda.rutgers.edu (the best way to reach me).

Listserv: Biography @ andromeda.rutgers.edu (for the whole class).


Course Requirements


Schedule of Class Meetings

Wednesday, 20 Jan.
Introduction. Class business, &c.

Monday, 25 Jan.
Selection from Theophrastus, Characters: the Ironic Man, the Garrulous Man, and the Flatterer; Plutarch, "Alexander," from Parallel Lives (abridged).
Wednesday, 27 Jan.
Selection from St. Augustine, Confessions; Jacobus de Voragine, "The Life of Saint George," from The Golden Legend.

Monday, 1 Feb.
John Bunyan, Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners.
Wednesday, 3 Feb.
Bunyan, Grace Abounding (continued); The Narrative of the Persecution of Agnes Beaumont, in Grace Abounding, pp. 191–224.

Monday, 8 Feb.
Selections from John Aubrey's Brief Lives: John Dee, William Shakespeare, and Robert Boyle.
Wednesday, 10 Feb.
Selections from The Complete Newgate Calendar: Jack Sheppard and Jonathan Wild. On-Line Exercise Due.

Monday, 15 Feb.
John Locke, selections from An Essay concerning Human Understanding; David Hume, A Treatise of Human Nature, book 1, part 4, section 6; Samuel Johnson, Rambler 60, Rambler 68, and Idler 84.
Wednesday, 17 Feb.
Samuel Johnson, selections from The Life of Savage; David Hume, "My Own Life."

Monday, 22 Feb.
James Boswell, Boswell's London Journal, pp. 39–140. On-Line Exercise Due.
Wednesday, 24 Feb.
Boswell, Boswell's London Journal, pp. 140–235.

Monday, 1 March
Boswell, Boswell's London Journal, pp. 235–333.
Wednesday, 3 March
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 19–97.

Monday, 8 March
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 131–216. On-Line Exercise Due.
Wednesday, 10 March
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 271–337, 379–95. First Paper Due (around six pages).

Monday, 15 March
No Class: Spring break.
Wednesday, 17 March
No Class: Spring break.

Monday, 22 March
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 764–79, 827–35, 862–80, 942–76, 1207–17.
Wednesday, 24 March
Boswell, The Life of Johnson, pp. 1239–45, 1301–46, 1374–1402.

Monday, 29 March
Benjamin Franklin, Autobiography, parts 1–2.
Wednesday, 31 March
Franklin, Autobiography, parts 3–4.

Monday, 5 April
Frances Burney, A Known Scribbler, pp. 53–139.
Wednesday, 7 April
Burney, A Known Scribbler, pp. 139–99, 229–32, 251–54, 298–305.

Monday, 12 April
Olaudah Equiano, The Interesting Narrative, chapters 1–6. On-Line Exercise Due.
Wednesday, 14 April
Equiano, The Interesting Narrative, chapters 7–12.

Monday, 19 April
Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Confessions, books 1 and 2.
Wednesday, 21 April
Rousseau, Confessions, books 3 and 4.

Monday, 26 April
Rousseau, Confessions, book 8.
Wednesday, 28 April
William Wordsworth, The Two-Part Prelude (electronic reserve).

Monday, 3 May
Wordsworth, The Two-Part Prelude (continued). Second Paper Due (around eight pages).